Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that mnay cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In today's fast-paced world every second is very precious and holds great importance and to save time in commuting from one place to another people have started using more personal vehicles than public transportation. This change was made to save time but instead, it had the opposite effect on everyone's lives. Nowadays, almost everyone owns a car which proves to be the reason for increased traffic jams in cities, especially, metropolitan cities where time is as valuable as gold. Residents prefer to take their own vehicle to work rather than travel by public transport and turns out this choice has contributed to the increased road traffic as well as noise pollution. For instance, the popular city of Mumbai has the most clogged roads during office and school times and the traffic tends not to move forward for hours. Hence, more usage of cars has greatly contributed to more jams. One of the biggest and most important steps the government can take to improve this condition is to promote public transportation and encourage its citizens to ditch their own rides and use a bus, train, rickshaw or cycle instead. Another thing that can be done is making new rules regarding environmental protection and holding rallies or seminars to educate people on how harmful cars can be to the environment along with which buses and trains can be made free for the population to use. For example,someone from a middle-class family would choose travelling free of cost in a bus over spending money on petrol. To summarize, I believe cars contribute greatly to the increased road jams and promoting local methods of transportation along with spreading awareness on the matter will help aid the issue.