Some people think that arts (such as painting and music) do not directly improve the quality of people's life, so governments should spend money on other areas. Do you agree or disagree?

Whilst the continuous development in the arts and literature over the aeons, some individuals condemn the huge sum being spent in this field. As, arguably, it does not seem to have any profound impact on improving the quality of human life. However, it argued by me that by having such oversimplified estimations, the importance of some unique artistic skills in building society can be seriously undermined. The viewpoint that skills like painting and music are useless, seems to be an understatement as a huge proportion of today's population has an inextricable relationship with arts. For instance, people from various backgrounds, such as, students, youngsters and employees tend to listen to music as an from the harsh realities of the world. It has the power to enliven the mood of anyone listening to it and to leave them completely mesmerized. Apart from that, the fact that these art forms provide a source of livelihood to a vast substratum of society, can never be ignored. Many may feel ostracized if the government will not support them in unleashing their full potential. As, the financial support offered by the state generally gives enough impetus to further develop the field. Moving forward, throughout history, arts and crafts have played a prevalent role in building the basic edifice of any civilization that ever existed on this planet.The myriad sculptures in the temples of South India, and astonishing engravings in the Egyptian pyramids have been left out as the only evidence of the existence of those civilizations. Even when one looks at Indian history, the role of patriotic music, and paintings in liberating the whole nation becomes clear. Nevertheless, neglecting the need for refinement in such an important skill may have dire consequences in the nearby future. Therefore, attention towards advancement in this field seems to be a more prudent approach. To sum up, it is believed by me that in lifting up the lifestyle status of the general population, the arts play a significantly important role. So, governments all over the globe ought to nourish this field by offering help and encouragement.