Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often widely debated whether mandatory military service should be introduced to the youth in most countries around the world. I strongly agree with this statement due to the reasons outlined below. There are various benefits of serving the country. Firstly, individuals learn to work as a team and hone skills such as comradery among the other service people. For example, In South Korea, a country in which military enlistment is mandatory for young men, it was proven that these skills went on to help these folks in their daily activities. These qualities they developed helped them in their future to improve their quality of life. Furthermore, military enlistment also looks good on a person's record. For instance, an individual who served in the army has a higher probability of being employed as opposed to someone who did not. This is because many organisations look for employees who are trained beforehand and those who have experience with solving problems head-on. An added benefit of serving the nation is maintaining good health and well-being. Service people usually indulge in a significant amount of physical activity leading to better fitness among the youth. This results in a gradual decrease in obesity rates within the nation. Not only that but an increased life expectancy of the public can also be observed. In conclusion, enlistment can be advantageous to a person for jobs, keeping fit and also honing many vital skills. Therefore, it is important that young men and women are promoted to serve for a certain time period towards their nation.