Many countries have compulsory military service for men after they leave school. It would be a good idea to adopt this system, for men and possibly women. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many countries have professional armies yet some countries such as Turkey still have compulsory military service. It is claimed that compulsory military benefit is beneficial for a country because it teaches its citizens how to fight in a war. However many people argue that compulsory military service should be abolished and Turkey should transition into a professional army because a professional army is more effective and compulsory military service is a barrier to young people's careers. First of all, a professional squad is a lot more effective than implementing compulsory military service. It is not possible to train a community like a professional army in a short period of time. What is more, many societies forget what they learn after the end of their compulsory military service. The professional army is an expert in their jobs. They train for their jobs every single day. They know how to use guns and various kinds of armed vehicles effectively. Therefore a professional army is a lot more efficient than a compulsory military supply. Secondly, Turkey should transition into a professional army because compulsory military service is a huge burden for many young people. Many university graduates have difficulty finding a job if they have not completed their military service. They can not start their careers unless they complete their military duties. However, when they join the army, they might lose some of their skills because they will not be able to do their jobs or practice their skills in the army. Therefore compulsory military service should be abolished so that young people can work in their fields of expertise and contribute to Turkey. On the other, supporters of compulsory military service argue that it is important for men to learn how to use guns. This is a very narrow-minded approach. Men can learn how to use a gun without joining the army. What is more, people tend to forget what they learn during their compulsory military service unless they practice it. Therefore it is clear that compulsory military service is not needed. To conclude, whether Turkey should transition into a professional army is a controversial issue. Although there are those who support compulsory military service, it seems that a professional army might be the better choice because it is more efficient and it does not waste the time of young people. Therefore Turkey should establish a professional army.