The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been an increasing number of prisoners in recent years. It is believed that locking criminals up is the best method to counteract crimes, while others state that community service can be more beneficial. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion in the conclusion On the one hand, the idea that people who break the law should be put behind bars has a number of benefits. Firstly, inmates are deprived of freedom which prevents them from committing further crimes. As a result, citizens will feel more secure and society will be a safer place. Secondly, putting bad people in prison will set examples for future generations. Indeed, a study published by Harvard university suggested that adolescents who watch documentaries about prisons are less likely to break the law. When young people know the consequences they have to face when committing crimes, they will refrain from doing that On the other hand, proponents of the idea that it is better for criminals to participate in community service state that it can help them learn the feeling of happiness when contributing to society. This can make them feel that they are useful individuals. As a result, they will become better citizens and lead innocent lives. For example: many studies have shown that most criminals after taking part in community activities do not reiterate In conclusion, despite the major benefit of forcing people who commit crimes to contribute to the community, I believe that they should be put behind cells to ensure the safety of other citizens and society. Getting freedom taken will stop inmates from reiterating