Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in theri free time. Ohter say that it is imortant for childern to learn how to occupythemselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Unquestionably, every coin has two sides and so it is humans too. Society is divided over the topic of how kids should spend their leisure time. Some argue that children, when time permits, should engage in team-building activities, whereas others are of the opinion that they should be left independently to decide how they want to spend their free periods of time. In my essay, both viewpoints will be discussed in detail along with my own opinion and a sensible conclusion. Initiating with the points that support the first school of thought, firstly, kids who engage in group activities learn how to function as a part of a team. It will help them in their careers in the future. For example, playing team sports will teach them how to adjust, sacrifice and provide collective effort, which are important life skills that are useful in work life. Another benefit that parents argue is social inclusion. They say that they learn how society functions, behaviour in various social situations, etc. To cite an instance, toddlers and adolescents who do not engage with their peers, grow up to be socially awkward and are considered recluses. This point is supported by many psychologists too. As a result, mothers and fathers encourage their wards to play with others. On the contrary, people who support other points of view say that children should learn, on their own, how to spend time. They believe that such treatment inculcates independent thinking and non-reliance on others. This promotes problem-solving capabilities by learning from mistakes. To cite an example, it is a fact that children from North America region are more independent than their counterparts in South-East Asia. They are able to travel alone, feed themselves, and learn about new subjects, because they are not reliant on their parents. To conclude, my opinion is that both thought processes have their pros and cons. Therefore, it will be best to provide exposure to both for holistic development. However, it will depend on the mindset of the people and which point of view is favoured by them.