The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold.  Do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that the high sales of well-known products can not be an demonstrates the power of advertisement, and can not be an indicator of local sitizen's citizens needs. I consider that, given statement is true, and I mostly agree with that people prone to by thing that they saw on TV or social media. High amount of advertisings made for the popularity of product, because it helps for better sales. People oftenly buy thing which are advertised by famous people, even sometimes they do not need it. We can see it even by increasing sallary of models or advertising people's fees. For example, over sixty percent of local people in Atyray Array buy colgate company's toothpaste because of the high numbers of it's advertisment. Nowadays social media became a home of hundreds of advertisements. Most of them is represented as perfect posibility to buy something for less cost. Several people like to buy that stuff just because they think it is economically better, even sometimes it is not. According to the statistics, to tirty persent of people buy things on sale or with less cost, though actually it is useless. To conclude, mostly thing that we see on advertisings is useless. Before of buying something, even by less price we have to think about our needs, and about wether this is just an effect of advertising.