Some people regard the video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

While some individuals argue that it is entertaining and educationally beneficial to play video games, others claim that the detrimental impacts on players are greater. Although I agree that some video games can provide children with harmless entertainment and educational purposes to a certain extent, I strongly hold that the benefits pale in comparison with the drawbacks. On the one hand, it is undeniable that playing video games is pleasing and educative. To begin with, resorting to virtual worlds provides users with the excitement of being a hero or winner without having the risk of being injured. As a result, players can relax and their mental health will consequently be improved, which results in higher work or study productivity. In addition to this, some video games would equip players with critical thinking and problem-solving skills while giving them a sense of encouragement. Take Dragonbox Algebra for an example, users, especially students, will be motivated to solve math problems that are required in their daily study. Had it not been for this educational application in form of entertainment, students would not have been incentivized to enhance their academic performance. However, I believe that the aforementioned advantages are at expense of greater drawbacks. Firstly, due to the accumulated achievements, new targets are constantly given to players to arouse their desire to win. Therefore, many people, especially children, tend to spend hours every day playing video games, which is a great contributor to some health problems such as obesity or myopia. Secondly, by devoting hours to playing video games, players not only sacrifice their physical health but also their academic performance. The research conducted by Oxford university has indicated that there is a strong correlation between game addicts and their poor academic performance owing to severe insomnia after many hours of playing games and low concentration. In conclusion, even though some video games can trigger players ' enthusiasm and encourage them to study, I believe they are outweighed by more significant disadvantages, including health degeneration and poor academic performance