Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employeed?

In our modern society, people tend to prefer working for themselves to others. This trend has been more popular due to the pandemic, COVID-19. Consequently, however, they had time to spare exploring what they genuinely want to do during working remotely, I think there are certain drawbacks, such as losing an opportunity to improve as well as being isolated. Although freelancing has the advantage of doing the bests they can, it puts a person in a safe area and limits the potential of learning new things. Working in a company, they can learn the experiences of other fellow workmates and get knowledge in a training session while challenging their capabilities out of their comfort zones to achieve goals, for instance getting promoted or being valuable in an organization. The second con is isolation, as communication is a basic human need and it is essential to feel a part of a group. After there were several quarantines during COVID-19 between 2020 and 2021, some missed the workplace as much as employees even though there had been work-related conflicts and stress. I believe it can be a good example of why getting employed fulfils not only desires but also needs. In conclusion, there are many cases of choosing to be freelancers in recent times. The reason behind this move is because of self-exploration occurrence in the recent pandemic. However, people started what they love and the best they can do, what they did not realize is the opportunities for self-developing and a feeling of being accompanied.