in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping centre and mall to do shopping. it is a positive or negative development

In this modern era, where everyone likes to explore something fresh, people usually for recreation purposes tend to go to shopping malls where they can do a bunch of stuff, like window shopping, watching a movie, and playing games. Because of this, many independent vendors or small shops which used to be a great hit in the olden days are now just a setting which is unpopular. I would give both positive and negative arguments for the same in the following essay. Firstly, I would like to point out that shopping centres have multipurpose use. One can buy anything from clothes to electronics and eat any kind of food they like. Furthermore, it saves a lot of time for the people going to these malls, as you get everything under one roof. As time is a priority for many this comes as an added advantage. It is less tiresome in contrast to local markets where people have to travel long distances in search of a particular article. But the negative aspect of these centres cannot be overlooked. The small or independent vendors are now going out of business, which means they are not earning enough to fulfil the basic needs of their families. Moreover, It has become difficult for them to survive this harsh competition which has led to some detrimental effects. For example, a local eatery shop with a nominal rent now has to shift the business to these big complexes which charge a hefty tariff and it makes them fight tooth and nail to sustain their livelihood. To sum up, I would like to say, that the world is not a fair place. For some, it may be appealing but for others, it may seem unfortunate. You cannot choose both sides of the coin and everyone should adapt to the changes society has to offer in this fast-moving world.