Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The inclusion of Physical Education classes in school is a controversial topic. While some support the idea that sports should be a mandatory part of the curriculum, others defend that students should spend their time solely on academic subjects. The two sides of this argument will be then analyzed before an informed conclusion can be made. On one hand, physical activity has a remarkable impact on our well-being. According to studies, an active person enjoys higher energy levels throughout the day and has more focus, which means that children that exercise are able to perform better at school. Moreover, the sport itself can become a profession for some, and introducing Physical Education classes early on would allow the pupils to discover their passions more easily and also promote this career path. On the other hand, most parents send their kids to school in order to have an academic formation. Therefore, leisure activities like exercise are regarded as a decision of the adult concerning his child and not a matter of formal learning. Furthermore, university admission is becoming increasingly more competitive and students need good grades in order to stand out, which becomes difficult if they also have to spend time practising sports. In summary, the presence of Physical Education classes in the children's routine has both advantages and disadvantages. However, the improvement in both health and academic performance as a result of exercise outweighs the potential drawbacks due to less time spent learning formal subjects. Thus, sports should be an essential part of the curriculum.