Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While having a fixed age of retirement for everybody irrespective of the occupation one does is fair, in my opinion, early retirement facilities should be given to specific occupations and people with special conditions. This essay will discuss which employees will be eligible for early retirement. (47) To maintain a sustainable ecosystem, people are engaged with multiple employments. Some types of employment are very labour-intensive such as military jobs, firefighters, miners and so on. Crow engaged in such occupations which require a lot of physical activities and strength should be allowed for early retirement. A 64-year-old soldier will not be capable to fight in a battle as same as a young soldier due to physical exertion. Furthermore, it will be difficult for a 64-year-old firefighter to save people and carry them out of a building fire due to them being physically unfit. Similarly, people who undergo a lot of mental stress while doing their jobs will decay sooner than people who are involved in basic, simpler jobs. A bus driver who experiences a massive amount of mental pressure should be given the chance to an early retirement considering the nature of the mental exertion they undergo. In addition to the above categories, irrespective of the nature of the occupation, people who are physically and mentally unsuitable to continue their employment should be given the opportunity of getting early retirement as exceptional cases. Therefore, society will be benefited from a retirement scheme which is varied based on the nature of the occupation and the fitness of the person.