some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion should be the main function o a university ?

In a modern society that is extremely competitive and individuals struggle to succeed in their professional lives the role of higher education is being constantly questioned. Some people argue that universities should aim to equip their graduates with certain skills that will enable them to get hired and at the same time make them more competent employees. On the other,hand many disagree with that and believe that their purpose is to provide them with the necessary knowledge for the subject they chose to study. I strongly believe that educational institutions should focus on transmitting knowledge. There are many reasons that some support the idea that higher training should focus on giving students skills needed in the workplace. Firstly, due to the fact that professional environments are so competitive many individuals choose to attend a university in order to gain some qualifications that will give them an advantage over other job applicants. For,example during a job,interview the applicant with the most impressive resume that includes courses relevant to the job has a better chance of getting hired. Secondly, employers and various companies support some educational centres with scholarships or donations and in turn require the right to influence their courses so that future graduates be more competent employees. On the contrary, many people consider that universities should keep their role as educational institutes and focus on providing their students with pure knowledge. If schools were only interested in preparing their students for their future jobs eventually this would lead to a downgrade in education. Moreover, education should aim in teaching graduates not only theories and scientific data but also promote values such as integrity and justice that will help them become contributing members of society. In conclusion, the role of universities is a much-debated subject with some arguing that they should aim in providing essential skills for succeeding professionally while others think that education is about improving intellectually. From my,perspective the most crucial role of education is the promotion of science.