The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals complaining that the emergence of consumer products has jeopardised the natural environment. Since it has become rife in society, it is worthwhile to discuss the reasons and solutions to combat the environmental damage. To begin with, consumer products often refer to goods with short life cycles or excessive packaging, such as fashionable clothes, canned food and disposable utensils. These products are indispensable in our daily lives, nevertheless, lead to a detrimental influence to the natural environment. For instance, customers purchase plenty of clothes from fast-fashion brands each season, then they bin the clothes after a couple of months. Often enough, the production of consumer products involves complicated procedures including dying, cutting and packaging, and these steps could result in severe pollution to the environment. To resolve the prominent pollution in the world, education is deemed the most effective measure. To illustrate, schools are accountable for teaching young children about how to protect the environment, so as to protect our natural food source. Moreover, the Education Bureau ought to add "Protection of Environment " into school curriculums, emphasizing the importance of not being wasteful and cherishing each item purchased. Resultantly, the next generation could understand over-consumption could put the world in jeopardy. To summarise, if individuals can reduce their consumption of goods with short life cycles, damage to the world could be reversed. Hence, education plays a pivotal role in guiding our offspring to treasure every piece of natural resource in the world.