Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent times, the number of individuals that dedicate time to leisure activities has significantly reduced. In my opinion, this is mainly due to the advancement in technology and the extreme usage of technical gadgets. As a result, more and more people have addicted to these devices. This has a major negative impact on health at a personal level and correspondingly reflects on society as well. To commence with, nowadays, life has become mechanical with a lot of mental stress on everybody. With more technical gadgets like smartphones, smartwatches, iPad, laptops,play station etc., each person irrespective of their age group has been using such devices extremely. Moreover, social life is being completely ignored. For instance, when these electronic gadgets were not around, children used to go and play in the parks and spend most of the time doing physical activities with their parents around them. Nowadays, people are more interested in browsing, playing online games, social networking and watching video content. From the examination of recent research, it is proven that at a very young age children started to get eyesight problems. Hence, it is advised to limit the usage of these devices. These habits have a detrimental effect on the health of both children and elderly people. Additionally, it is like a butterfly effect, although it begins with a minor eye irritation which could lead to brain nerves, and neck and spine damage. Apart from that, it has a significant negative impact on society as this could potentially result in chaos with lot many people of future generations leading to illness in their life. Consequently, their productivity goes down. In conclusion, each and every person needs to develop hobbies that are physical in nature rather than getting addicted to technology devices.