Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is observed that few individuals invest time in their pastimes nowadays. This essay will look at potential reasons for this phenomenon and illustrate potential problems for both people and the whole community due to this. The primary cause of this is the change in living patterns. Generally, people living in the past had enough time to spend after work or study, while those living in the modern era are running short of time to satisfy their needs and desires due to competition at the workplace or school. More specifically, the overwhelming workload in daily lives has already broken people down, and obviously, they are too exhausted and worn out to explore what they like after a stressful day. Actually, there are many complaints and frustrations about the current situation, and many professionals and students mentioned that they would have a rest earlier rather than waste their precious time doing things that are unhelpful to their work or study. Another factor that contributes to the issue may be people's changing attitudes. Compared to devoting to their interests which requires a lot of time and effort, individuals today prefer to have fun by surfing the Internet for recreation and relaxation. A case in point is that more and more citizens are becoming addicted to virtual games and advanced digital gadgets instead of researching brain-draining activities, such as reading and writing. They said that by doing this, they are possible to escape from the trouble and worries in life and enjoy their me-moments. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious and alarming to both people and society. From a personal perspective, much research shows that a lack of devoted hobbies probably results in the sense of separation and emptiness, which happened before in the U.S as people were pushed to focus more on efficiency and materialistic gains. Consequently, they are more likely to feel emotions incomplete even though they are provided with sufficient fortune. While for the general public, as psychologists and sociologists predict, this may push the community to go selfish and ultimately lead to severe incidents like burglary, riots, and even murder. In fact, this has already occurred in some parts of the world, and things have become more complicated and threatening. In conclusion, it is evident that the change in exterior surroundings and inner attitudes toward life are two contributing factors causing emotional loss and instability in society. Considering these potential risks for individuals and the whole community, we must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.