All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued there should be a prohibition on cars that use fossil fuel and, therefore, should be replaced by electric cars. My opinion, I agree that banning conventional cars will positively affect the environment and human health, however, an electric car is not an eco-friendlier alternative due to its manufacture. On the one hand, it is undeniably that emissions from cars put several negative impacts on the environment as well as one’s health. Cars powered by burning fuels are responsible for air pollution since they produce carbon dioxide, which also contributes to climate change and other poisonous gases such as monoxide. Furthermore, exposure to air toxins can be dangerous. For example, fine dust, which largely comes from exhaust fume from vehicles, can travel through your nose and throat and be absorbed by your lungs and bloodstream, leading to various health effects, especially respiratory diseases. On the other hand, although electric car produces zero emissions while being driven, the process of making them has high environmental costs. Firstly, the batteries used to store energy for electric cars are made of rare earth elements which need to be mined through very polluting processes. Secondly, electricity does not always come from renewable resources. In fact, if an electric car is powered by the electricity that comes from burning coal, it will release much more CO2 than a thermal car. In conclusion, forbidding cars powered by petroleum-based seems like a solution to our sustainability problem on mobility. However, electric cars are not likely to be a greener alternative.