Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of extending working hours at the workplace has increased over the period of time and has become ubiquitous across the globe. This results in lesser time spent on relaxation activities. Many folks are in its favour, because of its merits. However, a large section of the public will highlight its demerits first. In my essay, the advantages and disadvantages of the phenomenon will be discussed in detail, along with my opinion and a sensible conclusion. Initiating with the benefits in its support, the biggest benefit can be stated is that the nation's economic growth is accelerated. It will be able to have more products and services to export, which will ultimately increase its revenue, because people are putting in more hours at work and delivering output. To cite an instance, Japan resurrected itself from the devastation of world-war 2 within a short span of time, due to its citizen's commitment towards rebuilding the country, by working more hours than compared to the average of world. It is very common, even today, to observe that Japanese spend more than 12 hours at their workplace. Furthermore, superiors view the workforce, who work for longer periods of time, as hard-working and dedicated, resulting in better chances at promotion. For example, in my own experience, the year in which I received the highest salary hike was the year when my average work time was the highest in my career. On the contrasting side of this discussion, people who are against this notion say that higher working hours make their performance suffer over a period of time because there is very little time for leisure activities necessary for energy replenishment. To cite an example, it has been reported across the globe that more and more employees seek mental health consultation, due to the fact that they feel depressed on account of their jobs. Moreover, the parents will not be able to spend quality family moments with their children, resulting in lesser parental care. This can spell doom for the children and they may not be able to become upstanding citizens. In conclusion, neither its pros nor its cons can be neglected. In my opinion, one should strike a perfect balance between work-life and relaxation, as both are equally important. Everyone should come forward to mitigate this issue.