Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, it is debated whether single-sex education is a more effective schooling practice than mixed-sex education. This essay shall discuss both sides of the argument and I, its author will give opinion in the end with the conclusion. Convincing arguments can be made that single sex education enchances and homogenizes the campus. Admiting only one gender to an institution completely eliminates gender discrimination, empowering the voices of all students equally. Restricted admittance also allows for teachers to form a more tightly focused syllabus, by not having to account for some innate differences that come from different genders. For example, a discussion of the female literary character of Jane Eyre is much more useful and educational in an all-girl school. Also, the discussion would be more lively, since more students would feel involved, creating a positive learning environment for all present. Therefore, a uniform gender school would better suit its individual students for a better academic experience. However, mixed-sex schools carry a socially educational aspect. Single-sex schools are often boarding schools as well, which means that students often limit their social circle quite drastically, especially prior to the advent of the internet. What this means is that when a student is ready to go out into the real world, their reduced social skills could not only harm them personally, but professionally as well. This is because better paying jobs almost always require an interview, which would be much more difficult if one were not as cordial. Mixed-sex schools, where a student can stand to encounter a normal sampling of their peers. Thus, such schools provide an indirect, but no less vital part of youth education. Having considered both views I can on balance assert that both single and mixed-sex schools carry different benefits, but I personally of the opinion that the mixed school practice should stay as the default.