Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

It is certainly true that nowadays the Internet is widely used in education around the world. People’s opinions differ, some claim that it is beneficial for teaching and learning while others believe that it is harmful to students and should be restricted. Personally, I believe that the use of the Internet should be limited in some ways, but it is still a valuable educational tool. At the outset, the Internet is a product of the modern world and we should be thankful and grateful for its possibilities. It is widely used in workplaces and people’s everyday lives, both for finding information, personal finance, social networking and keeping in touch with relatives and friends. Therefore, students should learn how to use it correctly. In addition, students also need it for research for school and university subjects. Undoubtedly, the most up-to-date information can be found on the Internet. Surfing the Net is a convenient way of finding out material and developing independent research skills. On the other hand, the Internet has some negative aspects. For example, not all websites are reliable sources of accurate information. Moreover, students need to learn how to control the time spent surfing, as in many cases websites or social networks are like rabbit holes, you enter easy but to get out of it is a real quest. In addition, many student getting ready their projects just copy them without analyzing and understanding, they will just pretend that these are their own works. In my opinion, teacher should teach students properly how to use internet as an additional source of information. In conclusion, the Internet is a great invention of humankind, but adults and especially, teachers should explain to students the real importance of it, and help them to develop their research skills. If the learners know how to operate the Internet they will become better students and will have better opportunities in future careers.