“Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

School education is based on the overall development of children.That's why lots of cultural activities like dance competitions, debates etc are conducted by schools these days. Extracurricular activities play an important role in the personality development of students. let us discuss these points in detail. Extracurricular activities like sports, dance and other cultural activities focus on developing children's mental and physical development. It brings out their confidence and a sense of commitment by participating in various kinds of events. Once a student enrols on a competition they will try to win that competition. With that kind of commitment and,confidence their personality develops and they became more confident regarding their communication skills, learning skills etc., Furthermore when I was studying in school, my school reserved the last two hours for cultural activity every Saturday. There are different types of competitions were conducted by the school administration. Most of the students were very excited about those events. As they like to watch the performance of participants also. In addition to that, there are certain disadvantages of this kind of activity for example few students are willing to put more effort and concentration into extracurricular activities like sports, and dance events. That may impact their studies and, finally their academic results suffered. So it is very important to have balance in both activities like academic and extracurricular. To conclude, Extracurricular activities are important and should be monitored by teachers so that students can maintain a fine balance between studies and extracurricular activities. So I agree with the statement that extracurricular activities are important in student life.