These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent times, technological advancements have increased rapidly. It is often believed that as a plethora of people have cell phones and personal computers, it becomes quite convenient for them to work from home. I think that working from home is more advantageous than visiting the workplace. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of this trend in subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, having personal laptops, phones and a good internet connection is sufficient to support any kind of work virtually. Working from home has several advantages. One of them is flexible working hours; employees can log in and log out conveniently without wasting much time travelling to their offices. For instance, in many metro cities such as Bangalore and Pune, people spend half of their precious time in traffic congestion. Another major merit is work -life balance; when individuals work from home, they can spend quality time with their families and manage work as well. To cite an example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, many people started working from home and enjoyed being with their close ones. On the other hand, there are a few downsides associated with this trend. One of them is a lack of team coordination. When people isolate themselves and work, they cannot experience meeting new people and they tend to restrict their knowledge. For example, if fresh graduates join a new organization and start working from home, they would find it extremely challenging to understand how things work. Moreover, this working model would make human life monotonous. Individuals will start doing the same tasks regardless of their interests. Even though there are certain drawbacks to this trend, I believe that its advantages are far greater. To conclude, having personal gadgets such as phones and laptops, provides an easy work -from- home culture. Despite a few downsides, such as a lack of team meetings and performing repetitive tasks, I firmly believe that this trend is far more advantageous as it provides working flexibility to people and also allows them to maintain a work -life balance.