Some people believe that professional sportsmen and women are paid too much money nowadays in relation to their usefulness to society. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is an opinion that certain athletes get an excessive amount of funds relative to their importance to humankind. Such a belief seems dubious for several reasons. Firstly, only a limited amounts of sportsmen become famous and reach such standing which provides them with considerable salaries. Secondly, professional sports activity may be harmful and cause some traumas and pathologies and consequently have to retire early, therefore impressive payments may be adequate reimbursement. Thirdly, tax legislation of the vast majority of states claims for high taxes, therefore while getting a considerable amount of money for their activity sportsmen provide the government and consequently citizens with significant wages income. Same time the public behaviour of some athletes could be provoking and their lifestyle may seem to be wasteful, but still that could be some form of an advertisement for young men and women. Perhaps, there is only one sphere where excessive funds could be harmful to their owner. Popular persons (and professionals of sports for sure) are crowded with enormous amounts of fake friends and followers. Those persons may bring into the life of athletes such temptations as alcohol and drugs and because of their young age and lack of wisdom they could be really prone to it. The lifespan of professional sportsmen could be vivid but short, therefore I believe that they have to catch it and provide their future with funds and comfort, hence the payment in the short term period should be significant.