One problem face by almost every larger city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jams have been a common sight in all major metropolitan cities in the world nowadays. While some people suggest that the circulation of cars should be monitored, others argue that dependency on the public transportation system should be built. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons behind traffic congestion while suggesting a few remedies. On the first hand, a lot of folks, dwelling in major cities, believe that traffic congestion has increased over the last decade. The reason for this is that there has been a significant increase in the sales of automobiles throughout the period in question, aggravating pollution alongside. Additionally, the inflow of a large number of people into the big cities has multiplied rapidly owing to better standards of living, which culminates in heavy jams all over the cities, making it cumbersome to travel minimal distances. On the other hand, here are some of the solutions which may combat increasing traffic jams in all major metropolitan cities. Firstly, city-dwellers could rely on the public transportation system instead, while saving a few pounds on each and every journey. Secondly, they can carpool to go to work rather than driving unilaterally. For example, a report in one of the esteemed newspapers suggested that pollution can be restricted if law-abiding citizens start car-pooling and using public transport. In conclusion, traffic congestion in major cities is the outcome of many factors, such as an increase in the sales of cars and motorcycles, and the inflow of more people into townships and cities. In my opinion, problems pertaining to traffic jams can be solved via the suggestions stated above.