A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

It is true that plenty of nations rely on travel for revenue throughout the world. While travelling to a place indeed takes a variety of drawbacks in local areas if it is supervised inappropriately, I would argue that there are more benefits for many reasons that I will further explain. On the one hand, tourism industries have a few negative influences on the natural environment. First, the new building of facilities and infrastructures may destroy the habitat of wild animals. For instance, businessmen have created more hotels nearby beaches and forests to meet the need of tourists; in the meantime, a range number of creatures could be endangered or take a high risk for survival. Moreover, travellers produce pollution, waste, and even rubbish since they lack a sense of responsibility to protect these areas. However, I believe that visiting a foreign attraction is beneficial for both governments and travellers. People going on holidays can open their horizons and minds. Tourists, for example, experience different cultures and learn to speak other languages during travel. In addition, it creates opportunities for employment in services, such as accommodation, entertainment, or transport. Most importantly, the tourist trade is vital for some economies, therefore it helps to improve this locality of the standard of living. Another example is tourism attracts investment from multi-national companies. In conclusion, despite the fact that tourism has some bad effects on the local environment, I think the advantages, including broadening the horizons, increasing employment, and contributing a national income are more outweigh the reasons for disadvantages.