Some people say the Olympics Games are not relevant in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

Physical activity and education go hand in hand. Many people are of the view that international sports competitions like the Olympics are not important in the current century. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits of participating in the Olympic games. The Olympics is a tradition that began nearly a century ago in 1839 in Greece and has continued to grow into the present era. Apart from developing the physical ability of a person Sports also teach important values like sportsmanship and teamwork. Having a platform to display this skill is impertinent for the growth of the individual and a country. Countries take huge pride in participating in and winning these events. It makes the world take notice of a country and helps build relationships between countries. Olympic games participation is a prestigious event for any individual,the dedication and commitment needed to participate are humongous. Some people on the other hand are of the opinion that these games are not relevant in this century. This thought could stem from the fact that many countries are still struggling to provide their citizens with basic necessities like education and a robust healthcare system. The money that goes into providing the facilities and training to participate in these events is not minuscule. Education sometimes takes second place in the life of this sportsman. It can affect their job prospects once they retire from the field,which usually happens around their late thirties. To conclude, I completely disagree that the Olympics are irrelevant in this era. The government should encourage its citizens to participate in sporting events and provide the necessary support.