Students leave high school without learning about how to manage their money. What are the reasons for this? What can be improved in students’ understanding of how to manage their finances?

Most students graduate from high school without any skill in money management. The main reasons behind this ignorance are the absence of any subject in the syllabus regarding the way to use money as well as the reluctance of the parents to give their minors the responsibility of handling money. However, incorporating subjects relevant to finance, and, introducing the students to real-world situations can make them wiser in managing money. Firstly, the modern education system does not have any courses for teaching students about managing money. For example, we can see that although a student learns mathematics from the very beginning of his educational life, there is not even a single subject on money management in the curriculum of the schools, which is the prime reason for them being an ameture in using money properly. Another reason is that a 12th graduate is not given the opportunity to handle money on their own, since most parents do not like the idea to give their children extra money. As a result, they never get exposure regarding the utilization of the money. The unwanted situation can be improved, if schools incorporate courses on finance, which must be more practical rather than only theoretical, and organize some projects or seminars depicting real-world money situations. For instance, if a school organize an event where a student would manage all the funding, they would get a very useful experience of handling cash in reality. In this way, the juvenile would enter their next phase of life with some real-life experiences and they would know how to handle money smartly at the same time they would have much more knowledge regarding money investment. In conclusion, high school pupils are completing their degrees without even learning about money management due to the lack of pertinent courses in the schools and parents' unwillingness to teach their children about money. The situation can be improved by introducing a subject that would depict real-life money -handling processes.