Some people believe that history should be taught to children at school. Others however, believe that there are other subjects that are more relevant to children's lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether history should be taught at school. Although there are good arguments in favour of replacing history for other subjects which are more relevant to children ’s lives, I would argue that all children should learn about history at school. Those that feel that history should be replaced point out the relevance of other subjects such as information technology. When children have information technology classes, they learn valuable skills that can help them in their daily lives, such as how to use web resources to research school topics, or use Powerpoint for class presentations. History, they argue, does not teach valuable skills; only facts and dates to be remembered. However, I would argue that children should learn about history as it teaches them to analyse the conditions and circumstances that change human behaviour, events and trends. History serves as a vast repository of knowledge about how and why events come to be. This is why economists look at past business cycles to predict financial crisis, scientists look at past experiments to pioneer new discoveries, and politicians look at the decisions of previous leaders to determine their plan of action. Studying history teaches children the importance of determining the specific conditions and circumstances that led to certain events so that they may make more informed decisions. In conclusion, while some would point out that other subjects teach relevant skills to children, I would argue that all children should learn about history as it is a valuable source of knowledge that can help in decision making.