The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Products of technological advances such as the internet, aeroplanes, cameras or software programs provide humans with the possibility to learn about other cultures and lifestyles. This phenomenon has its downsides and benefits, and this essay will discuss both sides of the tendency and explain why its advantages far outweigh its drawbacks. Indeed, there are numerous disadvantages to this development. One of such untoward consequences is that because the boundaries between countries are less distinctive nowadays we put into danger the cultural heritage, traditions and history of our ancestors. The more we follow other nations' lifestyles, the more our own traditions are getting lost. Another negative effect of this tendency is that having access to information about others' lives makes many people compare and feel miserable about their own ones. Watching some people's lives on social media, for instance, might make these viewers feel not happy about their own achievements. Having easy access to information about others, in short, is not always a positive development. In my view, however, the advantages of the tendency far outweigh its negative sides. One of the main strong points of it is exchanging information between cultures allows people to learn from each other and implement useful information and experience in their own communities. If more individuals visit Korea, for example, more people would learn about their advanced medical technologies and would introduce some of the know-how in the medical sphere in their countries. Learning from other nations, in addition, might escalate scientific advancement. International scientific journals could be a great example since they share information with each other. Spreading knowledge about other's lifestyles, therefore, is definitely advantageous. In conclusion, due to technological development humankind has easy access to information about others' lives. Although there are certain drawbacks and strong sides to the development, based on the reasons presented in this essay, I truly believe its advantages such as learning from other nations and increasing scientific development far outweigh its weak points.