Many people working longer hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages..

In the current era, many employees spend most of their days working, giving minimal attention to free-time activities and leisure. This phenomenon has benefits as well as drawbacks, and this essay will discuss both sides in the following paragraphs. To begin with, working longer hours without leaving much time for leisure has some advantages. One of them would be the increased productivity generated by spending extended periods of time at their employment place, which leads to better profits and results. For example, many international companies require their employees to work extra hours in order to boost the overall financial outcome, proposing consequently better salaries to motivate the workers. Furthermore, people tend to have high expectations of themselves, which keeps them eager to work longer shifts. Thus, people could benefit from the positive side of this phenomenon. However, working for extended time periods without giving attention to personal activities comes with disadvantages, such as the possibility of burning out, as overworking leads to a loss of motivation in the long run and puts the employees' mental health at risk. Additionally, prioritizing rest helps to rejuvenate the mind and body. To illustrate this, a recent study proved that working over 8 hours daily leads to burnout, therefore companies started offering trips to their staff in order to preserve their motivation and wellness. Hence, we should be careful of the risks associated with overworking. To summarize, workers should try to find a balance between work and personal life, because giving attention to leisure activities impacts positively the mental health, consequently increasing the motivation to achieve better outcomes.