Many manufactured food and drinks products contain a high level of sugar, causing health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Products with lots of sugar in it are probably included almost in everyone’s daily diet, sometimes willingly, sometimes- unknowingly. Some people assert that sugary foods should be made more expensive, so that the majority would not consume as much sugar. I tend to believe that it would be improper in terms of a poorer group of people, and that we would be stripped of our right to choose. To start with, every product in grocery stores should be equally affordable for lower to upper working classes individuals. By making some products more affordable for wealthy people and setting higher prices so the lower class would not be able to buy them, we are making our society into a caste system. Products with lots of sugar in them would still be bought by rich people as much as they are bought today, if not more, only lower, and middle-lower classes would stop buying them, because they simply could no longer afford to. Secondly, sugar, for some individuals, is a life important matter concerning medical needs. For instance, carbs that are a content of all of the sugars, are absolutely necessary for growing organisms- children. If the sugar supply is cut, by making sugary products more expensive, children might not develop properly. Nevertheless, some diabetic people “depend” on sugary products - when their sugar levels drop too low, they must eat something sweet to bring their sugar level back to normal. In that matter, this type of products are life-death question to some people, and they should not be stripped off of the right to help their health in need. In conclusion, by making sugary products costly, we would help some people to stay healthier, but we would not be thinking about other group of individuals that might get hurt by it. Whether it is sweet or sour products, they should be equally affordable for all groups of people.