In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, thanks to technological advancement, TV commercials have been blooming with tons of eye-catching visual effects. It is comprehensible that the vast majority of customers are attracted and businesses enjoyed a surge in sales of products. However, some companies go further than just a visual effect that adversely impacts their customers, which is considered a downturn As aforementioned, entrepreneurs could significantly benefit from their gorgeous marketing campaigns. To be more specific, frequently broadcasted tv commercials can draw the tremendous attention of the vast public and imprint deeply on their brain. Over the period, it stimulates the viewer's sense of curiosity. Eventually, they are convinced to buy the products advertised in the media. This therefore results in a dramatic increase in the product's sales. However, some businesses are exaggerating their products' features or functions to the extent that misleads consumers. For example, a frying pan company has promoted its product as a supreme pan that transfers heat quickly and the non-stick layer on the pan would last forever. Many consumer buys and has used it for years without knowing that the layer was split off and toxic aluminium has leaked into their food resulting in elevated food poisoning cases. This is considered a bend of the truth and lies to the customers which should be criticized and prevented. To sum up, from the business perspective, a moderate yet truth-compliant marking campaign to encourage product consumption is good. However, I do believe advertising,especially TV commercials is not reliable and is no more than a myth beautified through flowery words. Hence, I do think it is likely to impair public well-being rather than promote it.