Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It has become debatable whether the rate of illegal activities could be minimized by putting criminals in jail for the long term or if there are other methods which are more effective. This essay intends to analyse the validity of both perceptions before forming my opinion. On the one side, proponents of the former view consider that lengthy imprisonment is the most efficient way to decrease the crime rate. This is due to the fact that people who have no moral values, will always do something bad to society such as robberies, murders and rapes. In contrast, if they would be released from bars easily then they will continue to do the same actions all over again. Consequently, there would be a negative impact on society. Therefore, in order to protect the community, long sentences would be the best option to reduce crime. On the other hand, opponents including myself, claim that there are certain methods which are more suitable than imprisonment which could aid in the reduction of illegal activities. Firstly, the rehabilitation of criminals assists them in being good citizens because,during this process, offenders would realise their mistakes and would try to improve them. For example, Central Jail in Delhi run a few rehabilitation programs which are useful to inculcate some human values in them. Secondly, they should get the opportunity to study their basic education so that they could find work after release from bars and will not indulge in wrong actions. Thus, tertiary treatment and education are effective ways to reduce criminal incidences. In conclusion, different people hold varying opinions about the methods to decline crime. However, I think that education and tertiary treatment in comparison with long imprisonment would be more suitable to minimise wrongdoings.