In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.  Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

It is true that small stores in the city centre are going out of business and people are more willing to shop out-of-town. This change also brings difficulties for some citizens. While there are some benefits of this trend, I would argue that its drawbacks are more notable. On the one hand, there are some positive sides to driving to the suburbs to shop in large stores. Firstly, it is possible for citizens to buy different kinds of commodities in big stores. In these places, there is more space and more likely to sell various products. Secondly, driving to suburban areas enables people to purchase more. Because they are able to carry all of the goods they bought in a car. Finally, the prices of products out-of-town would be cheaper than in the city centre. This is due to the rent difference between these regions. While there may be benefits to shopping out-of-town, there are also a number of negative sides. The most remarkable disadvantage is that it is inconvenient for those people who are unable to drive. For example, numerous students do not have their own cars, they have to rely on public transportation to buy something they need. By contrast, if there are some small town-centre shops accessible to them, that would be comfortable for their lives. In addition, this trend leads to a rise in the number of cars in cities, and may also cause other environmental problems, such as global warming and climate change. In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of setting up shops in suburbs are more significant than the possible advantages.