Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for trourists who visit such places?

Some people argue that travelling in areas like the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic has lots of benefits such as learning to appreciate human development and also, getting to know our planet and nature from a different perspective. However, other societies strongly believe that visits to such zones can be dangerous and can have lethal outcomes if travellers are not well prepared and trained properly. It is certain, that getting out of the comfort zone and going to places where conditions are not human-friendly for living, could teach one to appreciate their current living conditions and not take human development for granted. Because the majority of people live in developed cities and never even think about famine, hunger, cold, heat, or being attacked by wild creatures. For example, researchers collected surveys from hundreds of travel agencies where these kinds of visits were organized. And were shocked that the majority of clients mentioned that they are happy to be back to civilization and they are thankful that science and human development make people's lives much easier. On the other hand, there are lots of dangers that await travellers on these kinds of trips. For example, it is a known fact that Sahara is full of wild species which could bite, poison or even attack people. Apart from that, there is a weather conditions that can make the overall experience pretty life-endangering as well. And of course, the Antarctic's cold freezing climate can contribute to frostbites and all sorts of sicknesses if not prepared appropriately. For example, all the expeditions and trips to the Antarctic always have a victim of frostbite which certainly is not the best-desired outcome from the travelling. In summary, there are numerous benefits of visiting such places, however, we always need to keep in mind that there are hidden dangers which could endanger our lives if we are not well-trained and prepared for those travel activities.