In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested inf inding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Our society is attracted by the past, because is often unknown. We spend a huge amount of time studying the past, at school, with books, films and documentaries. Nowadays, more and more individuals are searching for information about the history of the accommodation or building where they live. The reasons behind this can be very interesting and are also available many tools in order to discover it. The human being is naturally curious about his roots. So, we cannot be surprised if a lot of people are looking for interesting information about their house. This is due to two main reasons. Firstly, the individuals hope that they can find something very strange about their building, because they want to talk with friends about something new and interesting about themselves and their life. Maybe they can discover that the ancient owner of the property was a rich man, an artist, or even more a famous writer. For instance, in England, last year a man discovered that one of his ancestors left a chest full of gold doubloons behind the wall of the living room, and after some surveys he found it and he became very rich. Secondly, they want to know something more about the place, such as the conditions of the building or any problems, so, by knowing the history of their home, is possible for them to study some critical things that can happen in the future and prevent them. For instance, they can notice that in the past the structure has had some problems with the soil in the foundations and call an architect to fix it. For everyone who is interested in the past of the accommodation where he lives in, it's possible to find information about it at the local library and in the urban offices of the city. In this kind of place, the documents about properties are preserved in specific archives. They also have an official website on the Internet where it's possible to find every document, without joining the place. To conclude, I think that humankind is very interested in its roots, and it is absolutely normal that individuals try to find out data about the past of their property, especially because by doing this, they can find interesting news about the past of the building but also prevent some problems. In order to find the documents that provide this kind of data, they should go to the local library or to the urban offices of the city.