Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important for young people to learn to care for other people, respect them and co-operate with others. This is why some people think that high school students must be required to do some free community service in order to practice and learn these moral values. I personally agree with this idea because I think this kind of work can be useful for them in many ways. First of all, by doing free community service, students learn that the value of the work they are doing is much more than the money, therefore, they will understand and appreciate the help of others better. This also makes them realize that money is not everything and that humanity is more important. For example, by doing voluntary work in charities, they can understand how some people donate their money but the ones who need it more than they do. Moreover, community service work makes students feel better about themselves since they are being useful to society by helping it improve in many ways. Furthermore, if this kind of work becomes compulsory as a part of the school program, it is granted that all the students will have the chance of participating in at least one or two community service activities. As a consequence, they can gain a lot of great skills and habits. For example, by teaching sports to younger children, they will learn to become more tolerant of kids and by improving the neighbourhood, they can develop useful skills. Lastly, adding this mandatory service to High School programs gives the students a chance to show the words in front of others and become more responsible for their actions. In conclusion, unpaid community service as a part of high school activities has various benefits for both students and society, therefore, oh people who say it should be compulsory for high school students.