Many small businesses are being forced to close because they cannot ‎compete with multinational corporations. What problems does this cause, ‎and how can those problems be solved?

In this essay, I will be deliberating how some teachers reward students who achieve outstanding academic results in comparison to teachers that reward those that display the most improvement. While I will consider both views, it is my opinion that most teachers focus on academic results rather than personal improvement within subject areas. To begin, I would like to draw attention to the importance of academic results: students attend schools and universities in order to receive superb outcomes and qualifications. Since this is of primary importance, many educational establishments are pressured to ensure their children obtain the greatest grades possible. This pressure often leads to a narrow vision in which educators are so engrossed with academic results that they sometimes lose sight of those that are demonstrating progress against those that are consistently receiving excellent results. In contrast, there are educators that prioritise development. For example, many teachers provide feedback - whether oral or written - in order to help pupils tackle their areas of growth. In doing so, they are aware of students' strengths and weaknesses. When learners make necessary adjustments and illustrate progress via their work, a few teachers celebrate this through education-specific reward schemes and verbal praise. Despite this, I would argue that the majority of educators are overwhelmed by demands (often by their line managers) to achieve the best results; in a handful of schools, for example, teachers ' salaries are performance-based and they only progress upon receiving outstanding results. Therefore, it is difficult to draw binaries and argue that it is either one or the other; nevertheless, I would argue that, while a handful of teachers are concerned with gradual improvements over time, as a matter of urgency and priority, most are primarily focused on pupils achieving academic success via results.