Some people think that charity organizations should only help people of their own country. But others believe that these organizations should give aid to people in great need wherever they live. Discuss both views and give your own view.

Nowadays, charity is a very strong tool in order to help poor people in our society. Some people argue that charity institutes should only provide help and take care of their own citizens, whilst others say that these no-profit organizations should assist individuals all around the world. In my opinion, these associations should make a huge impact by helping also people who come from foreign countries. On the one hand, for a charity institute is easier to help only local people. This is due to the fact that they know who needs aid and they can make a concrete intervention by improving individuals' quality of life. Helping local people is also cheaper, because sending food or medicines to other countries and continents can be very expensive and this can be a problem for the organizations because, being not profitable they do not have enough money. For example, in my hometown each year during Christmas, a charity institute organises a collection of food and primary gods, and then volunteers go around the city giving these gods to poor people. On the other hand, if the goal of charity corporations is to make a huge impact they should expand their boundaries by helping individuals all around the world. In order to have a big impact, charity institutions should be very big, by becoming a movement. Usually, charity corporations with big dimensions that operate all around the world raise a huge quantity of money and by doing this, they can help people in a bigger way, by building schools and hospitals. For instance, United Way Worldwide, one of the bigger charity programs in the USA, each year contributes to the construction of several schools in Africa. To conclude, despite local charity organizations can make concrete changes by helping their communities, the goal of a charity program should help people all around the world, by creating a movement.