There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measure will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Crime is a concrete danger to our society and to individuals. Data shows an increase in awful acts each year and this is not a good trend. Some people argue that the best way to fix this problem is to use the death penalty as a punishment, whilst others say that is possible to find other strategies to manage inmates. In my opinion, the smartest thing is to look for other measures. On the one hand, death penalty looks like the fastest solution apparently. This practice is still used in some countries in the USA and in North Korea. This solution gives to the governments to minimize the expenses of the maintenance of inmates in jails. it's important to have evidence that this kind of punishment is considered only for killers or other very dangerous criminals. For example, Texas was the oldest country in the USA to institute the death penalty in 1806 and this measure is still in effect. On the other hand, a wide percentage of individuals think that our modern society should use new methods to treat robbers. By avoiding the death of criminals, governments give a strong signal to their citizens, by saying that they believe in others measures finalised to re-integrate the delinquent to social life. Especially for light crimes such as theft, authorities should apply solutions that can make the thief useful for the community. For instance, Denmark has one of the lowest crime rates in the world and this is due to its focus on smart punishments like voluntary work. To conclude, the death penalty should the last measure just when it comes to real dangerous robbers like serial killers. I believe that for all other situations, authorities should find alternative solutions in order to guarantee a new life for the delinquent.