Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are able to see advertisements everywhere including on television or streets. From my perspective, I agree that advertising has a great influence on citizens to buy some products unnecessarily, while I do not think that consumers are controlled by advertising. On one hand, many advertising companies invite popular singers or actors to endorse products. People, especially teenagers or young adults, are affected easily by these advertisements from their favourite singers or actors, even though they do not really need these goods. Besides, products look more attractive on the television screen and its information only focuses on their benefits. For example, cosmetics advertisements often use edited images and promise consumers that their products can make consumers younger and feel more confident. As a result, people without any consideration buy these products on impulse. In addition, a series of advertising campaigns tend consumers to buy the same products whether it is necessary to need or not. On the other hand, consumers are not controlled completely by advertising. People can make decisions to buy things that they want. Individuals have their own spending habits and preferences. If people get enough income, they would have the right to decide what they consume. Furthermore, some people try to allocate their budgets because they have limited income that they are able to spend. This means that they cannot be easily affected by advertisements. In conclusion, advertising could encourage the consumption of people, however it is difficult to say that everyone is easily influenced by advertising.