Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

This paper will discuss the positives and negatives of increasing the price of some sugary products to avoid individuals abusing them, owing to the big percentage of sugar in most of the food and drink existing on sale. In my opinion, high sugar levels are a universal problem which all of us have to be conscious of and try to select whether the sugar level is accurate or not depending on the circumstances. Firstly, we should be aware that due to products with high carbohydrate content, the number of people suffering from diabetes has increased, especially among children. However, there is no product that doesn't contain carbohydrates to avoid this. Something that we can do is promote health and the consumption of less sugary food. So that, we could balance the existence of carbohydrates and reduce health problems. For example, if kids bring a coke and a sandwich for lunch at school, parents and teachers could encourage them to play games with other children, so they can take advantage of the energy that glucose brings them and burn it, this way they are acting healthy. Secondly, increasing the cost of foods with glucose is a good measure to prevent people from going directly to these groceries, making them look for alternatives. An example that is related to promoting health by raising prices is tobacco. In Spain, the cost of tobacco increased in order to avoid excessive consumption compared to previous years. Besides, this caused many people to decide to stop smoking, considering ways to quit. In conclusion, this is a problem, because we are generating bad habits which will be difficult to get rid of them with the passing of time. In this way, the early onset of diabetes is reduced, and by raising the demand, the search for healthier manufacturing is promoted.