Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that prices of drinks that contain sugar should be increased to stimulate everyone to spend less on these products. In my opinion, however, even though this measure is correct, I believe that health education is better to prevent people from drinking sugary products. On the one hand, higher prices of soft drinks can reduce the rate of consumption in these categories. It can be explained by the fact that the cost of living nowadays is climbing rapidly. To be more specific, people need money for basic needs such as paying school fees, gas, food, and so on. For that reason, they are not willing to use their budget for something unnecessarily exorbitant like carbonated drinks. For example, the monthly salary of a Vietnamese household falls to approximately $800 a month. Spending on food and childcare already costs half of their incomes. Therefore, they are not likely to spend the rest of their money on sugary drinks because they will have no more money left. On the other hand, teaching people the detrimental effects of soft drinks on their health is more beneficial to deter them from consuming less sugar. It is widely acknowledged that sugary products result in chronic diseases including diabetes and obesity. If everyone is approached with this information, they will consume fewer fizzy drinks. For instance, children at schools should be taught how bad sugar-based drinks are for their well-being. What is more, they should be guided on when to drink and what amount is sufficient. Hence, kids will have a foundation of health and their awareness will be raised. In conclusion, even though expensive sugar-based drinks can reduce people ’s consumption, I believe that health education will be a better method to tackle this issue.