Some people think that it is the responsibility of the government to ensure that people in the country have healthy lifestyles. Other people believe that individuals should be free to decide their own lifestyles. Discuss both opinions and give your own idea.

There are conflicting views regarding whether the lifestyles of individuals should be decided by themselves or ensured by the government. This essay will analyze arguments from both sides before deducting my personal opinion. On the one hand, people who think individuals should exercise their own judgement on lifestyles would provide the following reason. By forcing inhabitants to live limited lifestyles, some of them would not be able to live as they want and possibly have mental problems, which would have a negative impact on their lives. If governments, for example, ban all forms of cigarettes, smokers would get upset or irritable easily due to the lack of smoking, this could result in many troubles in their working lives. On the other hand, opponents of this way of thinking would justify why the government should be responsible for people’s ways of living. Since many people fail to realize that their unhealthy and sedentary lifestyle would lead to their health problems in the future, the responsibility for guaranteeing inhabitants’ overall health fall on the government. To be more specific, citizens nowadays sit in the office most of their time without enough physical exercise and rely on unhealthy food, which are the main reasons for them contracting many chronic diseases yet it is not easy for them to get rid of these daily lifestyles. Therefore, some measures should be taken by authorities such as online propagation and tax on unhealthy food to raise people‘s awareness.