Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present age, every family usually owns more than one car, and naturally, when children in the family become of age, they are eager to get their driver’s licences. Some people believe that raising the minimum age for driving a vehicle is the most effective way to prevent accidents. Although I agree, that the age increase could play a big part in reducing the number of car accidents, I cannot fully support this view because I believe that there are other equally important means that can be taken. On one hand, increasing the minimum age limit would actually decrease death and injuries. Young people tend to get into accidents because of their lack of responsibility, maturity, and experience. Therefore, the older people are, the more experience they gain. It is obvious that older drivers deal with stressful and unexpected situations more calmly and find solutions to dangerous situations faster. For instance, if there is a car crash in front of a young driver, he might be frightened and panic, meanwhile an older person might press the brakes or turn the steering wheel to avoid collision with other vehicles. Nevertheless, there are better measures that can help maintain road safety. One of them is the government’s encouragement to use public transportation instead of private one because that can help reduce traffic, which actually increases the possibility of dangerous situations on the streets. But firstly authorities should invest more in improving public transport so it would be more appealing for the drivers. It is obvious that more people would choose buses if they could see that it is a cheaper, faster and not such an uncomfortable way to travel around the city as it seems. All in all, even though I agree that the raise of the legal age for getting a drivers licence would reduce the amount of accidents on the roads, deaths, and injuries, I believe that there are other effective means that can help to deal with this problem.