Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employee. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It has become debatable whether Universities should deliver some essential skills and content which is required at job sites or should provide fixed courses irrespective of their use. In my perspective, the true motive of an educational institute should be to give certain useful knowledge to its learners since it is necessary for them to get a stable job and University itself would receive some name and fame. To begin with, One of the main functions of a University is to give invaluable knowledge to its students so that they would able to prove their calibres in the world of competition and would get a higher position at an occupation. This could only be done if a university will run the suitable courses which are required in future work. For example, Oxford University provides different study programmes which include theoretical and practical classes as well. Hence, for the bright future of the students, the university should run those programmes which would be benefitted for them in getting a stable job. Another argument I want to put forward is that by giving useful information to graduates, the University itself will raise its educational standards which would aid it to become a famous educational institute. This would result in an influx of more students who want to get admission. Consequently, it would raise the yearly earnings of the institute. To epitomise, admissions at New York University commenced six months before since they have thousands of applicants who want to get selected for particular courses. Therefore, this scenario also assists the university to get higher recognition due to having suitable courses. In conclusion, universities should provide courses to students which are of some assistance to them in future such as for professional skills and getting a renowned position in the world of education. For this reason, I am convinced that courses adopted by Educational institutes should be worthy of their graduates.