Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Nowadays, grandparents play a very important role in the family balance. Some people argue that grandparents should live with the rest of the blood-tie, others say that they should be better to be independent. I agree with the former idea in order to guarantee a safer life for older family members. In this essay I will examine both views by providing examples. On the one hand, if the ancestors stay in the same house with the rest of the family, this can bring many benefits to both sides. Firstly, the family should include them during their activities more frequently as meals but also special celebrations like Christmas and birthdays of other members. This can improve the mental health of the grandparents and create a strong sense of union. Secondly, by living with their grandchildren, they should take care of them easily. This can help parents when they are busy. For instance, when parents are working, the antecedents could bring kids to school, play with them and also prepare meals for them. On the other hand, encouraging elderly people to live independently should boost their confidence. This can happen only if they have good health and make them feel free. Especially if their significant other is still alive, they have the opportunity to spend a good time by following their hobbies in total quiet. This could also bring the problem of the distance from their kids and grandkids, but it is possible to fix it by visiting them once or twice a week. For example, I and my family do not live with our grandparents but we visit them once per week and each time we organise lunch or dinner. I need to notice that this is possible only if they do not live so far from each other. To conclude, despite encouraging older people to live by themselves can stimulate their sense of independence, in my opinion grandparents should live with the rest of the family, in order to create a strong union among the generations and boost their mental health.