Many efforts have been made by countries to address challenges concerning the environment but the situation have not improved. What are the possible reasons for environmental degradation? Are there any solution to combat this problem?

It is undeniable that governments pour a lot of effort in order to solve environmental problems even though they gained little. There are several causes for this environmental decay, but measures could certainly be taken to solve the problem. The main problem is that the increasing human population is putting pressure on natural resources, such as fossil fuels like oil and gas which are linked to air pollution are under dramatically demanded. Moreover, we have to cut down enormous areas of rainforest in order to accommodate the world’s population while rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilise the Earth’s climate. Another issue is that the established manufacturing industries in certain countries have a huge contribution to the tax revenue and even provide more job opportunities and better salaries. If we close these factories since they cause pollution to the environment, it will damage the local tax which should be spent on education, healthcare, infrastructure, and security, among other areas. These public services are vital for a developing country to function properly. However, there are various steps that could take to tackle these problems. For one thing, governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. For example, they could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power. Besides, they could also impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people would be encouraged to use public transport and to take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions. On top of that, individuals can take public transport rather than drive, choose products with less packaging, and recycle as much as possible. In conclusion, both national governments and individuals could certainly implement a range of measures to combat the effectless of looking after the environment.