More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Nowadays, there is an influx of more and more people migrating to cities in search of a better life. However, city life can be extremely difficult due to high standards of living, pollution and traffic congestion while navigating the streets. In this essay, I will discuss and analyze with the help of relevant examples some of the difficulties of living in a city and how the governments can make urban life better for everyone. Firstly, one of the most widespread problems of migrating to the cities from the suburban towns and villages is the high cost of living. For instance, most city dwellers either rent or own their houses and they have to take various loans and mortgages because the cost of renting an apartment for a family could be quite pricy. Moreover, another problem of living in the city is the associated air pollution which contributes to low air quality due to more cars using cheaper fuel. Furthermore, comparing this to the villages which have picturesque lakes and mountains while also having fewer fast-paced cars and public transportation. In addition to this, traffic congestion in cities could also lead to stress and irritation for drivers. In other words, people in the city are less friendly or cautious of strangers compared to the suburbs. In order to make city life better, the government could take a number of measures by making those new to the city pay fewer taxes so that they could better adapt to city life. Secondly, the state could improve the air quality index by limiting the number of vehicles commuting on certain days and encouraging the use of eco-friendly fuel namely electric cars and public transportation. In addition to this, they could regulate transgression by ensuring a safe environment for school children. To give an example, traffic at peak hours could be reduced by the construction of more flyovers and bridges in the city. In conclusion,in my opinion, although city life can be extremely difficult for those who have recently migrated, there are various incentives and welfare schemes that the government could offer to its residents to ensure a high happiness index. Thus with better healthcare, better wages and less crime, there would be happier newcomers to the metros.