many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. to what extent do you agree?

Cooking has always been a vital practical skill, and many think that it is important for pupils to learn this skill at school. That is when people are split in their opinion and others oppose this view. I agree that acquiring this skill is essential, but question the view that whether a school is the right place for learning it.To commence with, school is the first place where youngsters enter society and start learning skills for their future lives, so it is important to spare some time in school for learning this life skill named cooking. The first aim of all courses is to make children independent individuals. Knowing how to prepare healthy meals is one of the steps towards independence, but it is mostly overlooked by many parents. Therefore, it is important to make acquiring this skill compulsory by entering it into the academic curriculum. On the contrary, others think that cooking is a practical skill which could be learnt at home, and it is not logical to waste school hours teaching it. School is the place to pick up academic topics like mathematics, biology and other things that could not be taught at home. Moreover, cooking is a matter of taste and everyone has different recipes for different meals, and it is better for their offspring to learn cooking at their own home with their own parents. To sum up, learning how to prepare your own meal is an essential life skill which should be learnt by all. Some believe that this skill should enter school curriculums as an academic topic while others think that it would waste school hours so that less time is spent on other more important majors. To my way of thinking although cooking is a vital life skill, school is not the right place for acquiring it.